Y & Z - General:

In 2001, Carlos Ruiz Zafon published 'The Shadow of the Wind', the opening movement in a four-volume cycle collectively entitled 'The Cemetery of Forgotten Books'.

Each of the four novels serves as both as both an independent narrative and a point of entry into the lives of a gallery of unforgettable characters, chief among them the Sempere family, booksellers eking out a living in the ravaged, war-torn city of Barcelona. Taken together, these four volumes form a kind of secret history of Barcelona, one dominated and symbolized by the eponymous Cemetery.

Zafon then sets that imaginary history against the larger history of a city—and country—torn by civil war and forced to endure nearly forty years of state sponsored terror under the Fascist regime of Francisco Franco. The resulting fusion of literature and politics, history and art, is one of the significant accomplishments of modern popular fiction.

On another, more personal level, these four books offer a profound and moving defense of the power of the imagination. Horrors abound in Zafon’s fictional universe, but so do their benign counterparts: love, friendship, family, ideas and, most centrally, stories.

Carlos Ruiz Zafon:

   First edition hardcover -signed/ ltd

   First edition hardcover -signed/ ltd

   First edition hardcover -signed/ ltd

   First edition hardcover -signed/ ltd

First edition hardcover -signed

David Zindell’s debut novel. This is the Grafton first edition hardcover.

Neverness is one of those highly complex reads which can either frustrate or reward, in this case it frustrated. It concerns a medium far-future world where mathematicians have become a kind of caste or religious order, because of their abilities to do the calculations needed for space travel. It follows one, Mallory Ringess, as he discovers secrets and strangeness in the Universe he inhabits. Amongst these are experiences with the science fiction equivalent of a Goddess who was once a little girl and the discovery of immortals.

The book is praised for its unusual approach to showing an unfamiliar world, and the deep complexity of its story.

There is a trilogy of sequel novels to Neverness called 'A Requiem for Homo Sapiens’.

The Ea Cycle: