Leiber, Fritz: 

Fritz Leiber (1910-1992) was an American writer of fantasy, horror, and science fiction. He is regarded as one of the fathers of sword and sorcery fantasy, having in fact coined the term. He excelled in all fields of speculative fiction, writing award-winning work in fantasy, horror, and science fiction.  His legacy has been consolidated by the most famous of his creations, the Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser stories, written over a span of 60 years. They are concerned with an unlikely pair of heroes found in and around the city of Lankhmar. Fafhrd was based on Leiber himself and the Mouser on his friend Harry Otto Fischer, and the two characters were created in a series of letters exchanged by the two in the mid-1930s. The stories were influential in shaping the genre and were influential on other works. Numerous writers have paid homage to the stories. For instance, Terry Pratchett's city of Ankh-Morpork bears something more than a passing resemblance to Lankhmar (acknowledged by Pratchett by the placing of the swordsman-thief "The Weasel" and his giant barbarian comrade "Bravd" in the opening scenes of the first Discworld novel).                                                                                                                                               

Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser Series:

Swords and Deviltry published by Centipede Press

Features five color interior illustrations, a full-color frontispiece, full color wraparound dustjacket, and custom illustrated endpapers. The introduction is by Michael Moorcock. The book includes all of the stories that make up Swords and Deviltry along with two archival essays by Harry O. Fischer, Fritz Leiber’s 1973 introduction, two “Gray Mouser” poems from The Acolyte, and an interview with Fritz Leiber from 1979. DJ by Tom Kidd


As if the signed limited edition isn’t special enough, Centipede Press have issued 50 deluxe oversized slipcased editions, we were lucky enough to make the cut. Here’s the comparison in terms of size, it doesn’t fit on our scanner! The book also has the DJ image inlaid on the front cover. Additionally the stunning Tom Kidd DJ has no titles. 


The second book in the series, Swords Against Death, features work produced over a thirty-year period, including five classic novelettes of the genre that show Leiber’s progression from excellent to perhaps the very best that the field has ever produced. These five novelettes are ably bolstered by five terrific short stories, demonstrating Leiber’s ability to excel at any length.

With this volume what really sets the tone for the entire series is that we learn much more about the duo’s supernatural mentors, Sheelba of the Eyeless Face and Ningauble of the Seven Eyes. This book features an introduction by Steve Rasnic Tem and artwork by Dominick Saponaro. It features five interior illustrations, a full-color frontispiece, full color wraparound dustjacket, and custom illustrated endpapers. The book includes all of the stories that make up Swords Against Death along with Fritz Leiber’s introduction to Bazaar of the Bizarre, some movie notes by Fritz Leiber, and a rare bonus essay, “Lankhmar and Lands Around.” 

The third book in the series, Swords in the Mist, includes “The Cloud of Hate,” “Lean Times in Lankhmar,” “Their Mistress, The Sea,” “When the Sea-King’s Away,” “The Wrong Branch,” and “Adept’s Gambit.”

For bonus materials, we have a rare photograph of Fritz Leiber, plus Leiber’s introduction from Night’s Black Agents, an essay by Fritz Leiber called “H.P. Lovecraft meets Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser,” some story fragments and a “Few Fafhrd & Gray Mouser Firsts,” and H.P. Lovecraft’s letters to Fritz Leiber regarding “Adept’s Gambit.”

This book features an introduction by Tim Powers and artwork by Grant Griffin. It features six color interior illustrations, a full-color frontispiece, full color wraparound dustjacket, and custom illustrated endpapers. The book includes all of the stories that make up Swords in the Mist along with the bonus material mentioned above. 




                                                                                                                         White Wolf Publishing - First Editions


                   Rupert Davis - First Edition Hardcover                                                                                                   TPB's


Masters of Science Fiction

Poet, actor, playwright, chess expert, master of fantastic fiction. Fritz Leiber was a true Renaissance Man. His writing crossed all boundaries, from horror to sword and sorcery. This book goes deep into Leiber’s underrated science fiction oeuvre. It’s a comprehensive, page-turning cache that captures Leiber’s thoroughly original style — altogether mystical, beautiful, and sometimes disturbing.

“The Foxholes of Mars” is a literary assault: a frightening, nitro-fueled tale of war on Mars, with one soldier questioning the futility and purpose of the battle against bug-eyed aliens — a distant mirror-image of our own times. “Space-Time for Springers” is told through the glaring eyes of Gummitch, a cat who happens to possess a genius IQ and a voracious appetite for scientific knowledge. “Night Passage” takes us on a dark journey into a Las Vegas where Earthlings and extra-terrestrials mingle and gamble — and where one man takes a moonlit ride with a mystery woman from Mercury, tailed by some very scary pursuers. “The Mutant’s Brother” is a malevolent mix of horror and SF, a tale of identical twins who each carry a frightful chromosome. One of them is also a monstrous serial killer. The literally chilling “A Pail of Air” takes place in an underground nest, where a family fights to survive in a sunless, moonless, post-apocalyptic world where even helium and carbon dioxide become crawling, shapeless threats.

Fritz Leiber was a storyteller and prophet for the ages. His work will never be dated or irrelevant. Treat this book like a crystal ball. These pages chronicle the world to come. You’ve been warned.

Centipede Press, Hardcover First Edition.


            Whispers Press - First Edition                        Whispers Press - First Edition                                 Dobson - First Edition                                Subterranean Press - Signed/Limited   


          Neville Spearman - First Edition                              Gregg - First Edition                                          Gollancz - First Edition                                   Walker - First Edition