Blish, James: 

Cities in Flight:

Perhaps Blish's most famous works were the "Okies" stories, known collectively as Cities in Flight, published in the science-fiction digest magazine Astounding Science Fiction. The framework for these was set in the first of four novels, They Shall Have Stars (first UK publication under the alternative title of Year 2018!), A Life For The Stars,  Earthman, Come Home and the final installment, The Triumph of Time (UK title: A Clash of Cymbals). These are the Faber second prints.



A Case of Conscience:

First published in 1958. It is the story of a Jesuit who investigates an alien race that has no religion yet has a perfect, innate sense of morality, a situation which conflicts with Catholic teaching. The story was originally published as a novella in 1953, and later extended to novel-length, of which the first part is the original novella. The novel is the first part of Blish's thematic "After Such Knowledge" trilogy, followed by Doctor Mirabilis, Black Easter, and The Day After Judgment

The story is unusual in several respects. Few science fiction stories of the time attempted religious themes, and still fewer did this with Catholicism. 

 Easton Press Edition



                          Faber - First Edition 2nd Print                                         


                                                                                                                              NESFA Press First Editions: