Jemisin, N.K.

The Broken Earth Trilogy

This is the way the world ends.

Extraordinary worlds, extraordinary endings, witnessed by extraordinary characters. This is the Hugo Award-winning, Nebula and World Fantasy Award-nominated tour de force of language, incident, and, most of all, of people. Three women in three times—youthful Damaya, skillful Syenite, and the older Essun—each face the challenges of the end times of their world. Their stories are inextricable, yet unique, lined in voices and tones specific and necessary to each character.

The world of The Broken Earth, a world clearly extrapolated from our own, but just as clearly and marvelously an invention of its author. The geographies and politics alike are contoured from the stuff of both life and imagination, combining into the rare fantastic setting that is as fascinating as the characters who inhabit it and the stories they find themselves in.

Death and betrayal haunt the women who live in these pages. Apocalypses both world-spanning and personal try them, and if there are escapes to be forged, they will not be those a reader expects.

This is the way world the ends… in Jemisin’s unforgettable novel, with tumult, and revelation, and hope.

Subterranean Press.

Limited: 400 signed numbered hardcover copies, bound in cloth

Here are the signed limited UK editions from Orbit. Only 300 hardcovers were published, all signed limited and sold through Anderida Books.

This first collection by multiple award-winning novelist N. K. Jemisin demonstrates the enormous reach of her shorter work, which is galaxy-wide and eons-deep.

Opening with the audacious “The Ones Who Stay and Fight,” a story in direct conversation with Ursula K. Le Guin’s unforgettable “The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas,” How Long ‘Til Black Future Month includes among other joys an adventure tale set in a steamfunky 19th-century New Orleans (“The Effluent Engine”); a strangely plausible, deeply moving depiction of the virtual survivors of a real-life apocalypse (“Too Many Yesterdays, Not Enough Tomorrows”); and an opulently sensual account of wealthy gourmets playing havoc with taste and time (“Cuisine des Mémoires”).

Plus the appearances here of “Stone Hunger,” set in the world of her acclaimed Broken Earth trilogy, and “The Narcomancer,” set in the world of her Dreamblood duology, help us see all forms of Jemisin’s writing as part of a glorious whole.

How Long 'til Black Future Month? by N.K. Jemisin

                  First edition hardcover -signed/ltd

                  First edition hardcover -signed/ltd

                  First edition hardcover -signed/ltd

                  First edition hardcover -signed/ltd

                  First edition hardcover -signed/ltd

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

Dust jacket and interior illustrations by Reiko Murakami.

"There were three gods once.

Only three, I mean. Now there are dozens, perhaps hundreds. They breed like rabbits. But once there were only three, most powerful and glorious of all: the god of day, the god of night, and the goddess of twilight and dawn. Or light and darkness and the shades between. Or order, chaos, and balance. None of that is important because one of them died, the other might as well have, and the last is the only one who matters anymore.

The Arameri get their power from this remaining god. He is called the Skyfather, Bright Itempas, and the ancestors of the Arameri were His most devoted priests. He rewarded them by giving them a weapon so mighty that no army could stand against it. They used this weapon—weapons, really—to make themselves rulers of the world."

Yeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky. There, to her shock, Yeine is named an heiress to the king.

The Inheritance Trilogy:

The Subterranean Press Limited Editions:

Here are the signed limited UK editions from Orbit. Only 300 hardcovers were published, all signed limited and sold through Anderida Books.

The Dreamblood Duology:

The city burned beneath the Dreaming Moon.

In the ancient city-state of Gujaareh, peace is the only law. Upon its rooftops and amongst the shadows of its cobbled streets wait the Gatherers -- the keepers of this peace. Priests of the dream-goddess, their duty is to harvest the magic of the sleeping mind and use it to heal, soothe... and kill those judged corrupt.

But when a conspiracy blooms within Gujaareh's great temple, Ehiru -- the most famous of the city's Gatherers -- must question everything he knows. Someone, or something, is murdering dreamers in the goddess' name, stalking its prey both in Gujaareh's alleys and the realm of dreams. Ehiru must now protect the woman he was sent to kill -- or watch the city be devoured by war and forbidden magic.

Both signed/limited editions published by Orbit for Anderida Books and limited to 300 copies only.

The Broken Kingdoms

Oree Shoth sees magic — and nothing else.  She paints landscapes by touch and scent, and uses a staff to navigate Shadow, the city built at the roots of the giant tree whose branches cradle the palace of the all-powerful Arameri dynasty.

When a derelict god shows up on a neighborhood muckheap Oree takes him under her wing, an act which entangles her in a cosmic feud thousands of years old.  For the gods hold ancient grudges and commit horrific crimes, letting mortals suffer the consequences.  Can innocence redeem them?

In The Broken Kingdoms, N.K. Jemisin continues to dazzle us with the treacherous machinations of a pantheon of rivals — the fascinating, maddeningly self-centered deities introduced in the first book of her genre-redefining Inheritance Trilogy.

The Kingdom of Gods by N. K. Jemisin

Sieh the Trickster, a billion-years-old child and first godling grandson of the fearsome, universe-spawning Maelstrom, plays too hard with a mortal brother and sister and falls in love.  

When a strange accident strips Sieh of his powers these two royal scions of the Arameri dynasty--the family who once enslaved Sieh and his father--must literally move heaven and earth to save him, while the implacable vengeance of a neglected deity threatens to shred all existence to rags.

In The Kingdom of Gods, the glorious conclusion to N.K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy, death, lust, betrayal, and mercy collide.  With unhesitating skill and deep empathy the author depicts a life turning from dream to reality, from mockery to maturity, from making wishes to making truth.

But the throne of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is not easily won, and Yeine is thrust into a vicious power struggle with a pair of cousins she never knew she had. As she fights for her life, she draws ever closer to the secrets of her mother's death and her family's bloody history. With the fate of the world hanging in the balance, Yeine will learn how perilous it can be when love and hate - and gods and mortals - are bound inseparably together.

The Killing Moon by N. K. Jemisin

Illustration By Julie Dillon

Gatherer Ehiru of ancient Gujaareh is no murderer.  He escorts faithful followers of the Dreaming Goddess from the waking world to the sweet, infinite rest of their afterlives.  But a royal monster and corrupt priests force him to face an overwhelming, all-consuming horror: he and his loving acolyte Nijiri are being used in a secret bid to breach divine peace and grant a greedy politician vampire-like powers.  Can Ehiru ally himself with Sunandi, ambassadress of the enemy Kisua, and defeat the foul plan of his land’s rotten, centuries-old order?

N.K. Jemisin won Hugo Best Novel Awards for all three books of her Broken Earth series, and she received a Locus Award and major award nominations for the novels of her earlier Inheritance Trilogy. But before earning even her earliest acclaim she wrote the Dreamblood Duology, beginning with this book, The Killing Moon, published less than a year after Inheritance’s last volume.