James S.A. Corey:

'Humanity has colonized the solar system - Mars, the Moon, the Asteroid Belt and beyond - but the stars are still out of our reach.

Jim Holden is XO of an ice miner making runs from the rings of Saturn to the mining stations of the Belt. When he and his crew stumble upon a derelict ship, the Scopuli, they find themselves in possession of a secret they never wanted. A secret that someone is willing to kill for - and kill on a scale unfathomable to Jim and his crew. War is brewing in the system unless he can find out who left the ship and why.

Detective Miller is looking for a girl. One girl in a system of billions, but her parents have money and money talks. When the trail leads him to the Scopuli and rebel sympathizer Holden, he realizes that this girl may be the key to everything.

Holden and Miller must thread the needle between the Earth government, the Outer Planet revolutionaries, and secretive corporations - and the odds are against them. But out in the Belt, the rules are different, and one small ship can change the fate of the universe.’

To date there are nine novels in 'The Expanse' series by James S. A. Corey (the pen name of Daniel Abraham and Ty Franck). For the hardcover collector ‘Leviathan Awakes’ was published as a paperback original in 2011 and the first trade hardcover edition was only published in 2019, prior to that there was a SFBC edition and the Subterranean Press signed limited edition. Both Orbit and Subterranean commissioned Daniel Dociu for the artwork of their respective editions, and what a job he’s doing!. Note that the Subterranean books have no titles whatsoever, probably not really practical from a browsing perspective for all books, but given the finished product, it certainly works on these, the images below are sequential.