David Brin:

Startide Rising

is a 1983 science fiction novel by David Brin and the second book of six set in his Uplift Universe (preceded by Sundiver and followed by The Uplift War). It earned both Hugo and Nebula Awards for Best Novel. It was revised by the author in 1993 to correct errors and omissions from the original edition. An early work by the now well-known author David Brin, it was extremely well reviewed when it was published, has remained popular, and served as the seed for three more novels which revolved around the crew of the Earthship Streaker (the Uplift Storm Trilogy).

It joins the ranks of double-winners of both the Hugo and Nebula awards for best novel along with classic science fiction novels such as Dune, Neuromancer, Ringworld, Ancillary Justice, and Ender's Game. Startide Rising also won the Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel in 1984.

Parts of Startide Rising were published as "The Tides of Kithrup" in the May 1981 issue of Analog. The Tides of Kithrup was an early title of the novel; uncorrected proofs of the novel that still bear that title have become collector's items. Happily if you check out our ‘Various Magazines’ section you’ll see a copy of the Analog edition.

Easton Press Edition

The Best of David Brin

In this major retrospective collection of shorter work, gathered from across an extraordinary career spanning decades, you’ll find wonder via David Brin’s unparalleled talent at imagination, extrapolation, hard headed optimism, and plain old fun. Here, you will find “The Crystal Spheres,” the Hugo Award winning short story that first brought Brin wide acclaim, posing one more—colorfully strange—answer to: “Are we alone in the universe?”

Before The Postman won awards as a novel and became a major motion picture, that tale of a storyteller reviving dreams of a better world originated in the Hugo-nominated novella that’s included here. Confronting one of the oldest challenges in modern SF—“What if the Nazis won?”—Brin presents an unexpected answer in “Thor Meets Captain America.” And his penchant for offering I-hadn’t-thought-of-that! answers, as well as questions, erupts in “Stones of Significance,” a post-Singularity world where human identity can and will survive technological evolution.

Writing of that last story, Brin says that “Ideas are like fruit, watered with patience and observation—but pollinated by surprise!” Here, in more than twenty stories representing the best work of a masterful writer, readers will find an entire orchard of ideas, rooted in guarded optimism and stretching skyward towards a multitude of possible worlds.

Limited: 1000 signed numbered hardcover copies